Sunday, August 18

6:00 p.m.

Opening Reception


 Monday, August 19

8:30 a.m.

Opening Remarks

         George A. Keyworth, Chairman, PFF


8:45 a.m.

Keynote Address:
The Fourth S Curve: Digital Content and the Future of the Web

  • Jeffrey A. Eisenach, President, PFF


9:30 a.m.

When Voice Meets Video: Perspectives on the Future of Convergence

  • Tim Donahue, President & CEO, Nextel
  • Eddy W. Hartenstein, Chairman & CEO, DIRECTV
  • Hon. Thomas J. Tauke, SVP, Verizon


11:00 a.m.

Stove Pipes and Double Standards: Can Communications Policy Ever Catch Up to the Marketplace?

  • Randolph J. May, Moderator, PFF
  • Hon. Kathleen Abernathy, Commissioner, FCC
  • Steven Berry, SVP, Cellular Telephone Industry Assoc.
  • Hon. Kevin Martin, Commissioner, FCC
  • Walter McCormick, Pres. & CEO, U.S. Telecom Assoc.
  • Robert Sachs, President & CEO, NCTA
  • Hon. Nancy J. Victory, Assist. Sec. of Commerce, NTIA


12:45 p.m.

Terrace Lunch Fountain Courtyard  


6:00 p.m.

Informal Reception  



7:00 p.m.

         Working Dinners


 Tuesday, August 20


9:00 a.m.

Keynote Address: The Next Digital Revolution

  • Peter Chernin, President and COO, News Corporation Chairman and CEO, Fox Group



9:45 a.m.

Perspectives on the Future of E-Commerce

  • Thomas Lenard, Moderator
  • W. Michael Cox, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Sam Gilliland, President & CEO, Travelocity
  • Hon. Bruce Mehlman, Assist. Sec. of Commerce
  • Phillip Merrick, Chairman & CEO, webMethods
  • Geoffrey Ramsey, CEO, eMarketer
  • Sudhakar V. Shenoy, Chairman & CEO, IMC


11:00 a.m.

Broadband, Content and the Future of the PC
  • Leslie L. Vadasz, EVP Intel Corporation, President of Intel Capital


11:45 a.m.

The Market for Online Content: What Government Can Do
  • Mark F. Grady, Dean, GMU School of Law, Moderator
  • Christopher Cookson, EVP &CTO, Warner Bros.
  • Chris Gorog, President & CEO, Roxio
  • John G. Malcolm, Dep. Assist. Attorney Gen., DOJ
  • Gary Shapiro, President &CEO, CEA
  • Cary Sherman, President & General Counsel, RIAA


1:00 p.m.

Luncheon Speech

  • Michael D. Capellas, President, Hewlett-Packard


2:30 p.m.

Special Briefing: The Homeland Security Agenda and the IT Sector

  • Hon. Tom Davis
  • Hon. Jane Harman


3:15 p.m.

Network Security in an Always On World

  • Mary Pat McCarthy, Vice Chair, KPMG, Moderator
  • Gail E. Hamilton, EVP, Symantec Corp.
  • Brian Kelly, SVP, Electronic Industries Alliance
  • Paul Kurtz, Sr. Dir., Cyberspace Security, NSC
  • Eileen Odum, President, National Operations, Verizon
  • Hon. Orson Swindle, Commissioner, FTC


5:30 p.m.

Chairman's Reception and Dinner

Chairman's Address

  • Jeff Bezos, Founder, Chairman and CEO,


*All speakers confirmed unless otherwise indicated.





 Agenda- Aspen '02St. Regis AspenPrevious ConferencesRegistration Info
Aspen '02 SponsorsPFF Main Page