Sunday, August 19

5:30 p.m.

  • Opening Reception 

6:30 p.m.

Monday, August 20


8:00 a.m.

  • Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m.

  • Welcome and Opening Remarks
    George A. Keyworth, Chairman, PFF
    Hon. Bill Owens, Governor of Colorado

8:45 a.m.

  • Keynote Address: "E-Commerce Grows Up: The IT Meltdown and the Coming Recovery"
    Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman and CEO, Siebel Systems

9:30 a.m.

  • Panel Discussion: "Understanding the First Digital Business Cycle"
    Moderator: Thomas Lenard, Progress & Freedom Foundation
    Doug Ashton, Managing Director, Bear Stearns
    Michael Cox, Senior VP, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
    David Hale, Chief Global Economist, Zurich Financial Services
    Bruce Mehlman, Asst. Commerce Sec. For Tech Policy
    Kathryn L. Shaw, Economics Prof., Carnegie Mellon University

10:45 a.m.

  • Plenary Address: "What's Next for the New Economy"
    Dale Jorgenson, President, American Economics Association

11:30 a.m.

  • Panel Discussion: "Has the Tech Sector Lost Its Clout"
    Moderator: Lisa Nelson, VP Ext. Relations, AOL Time Warner
    Robert D. Atkinson, VP, Progressive Policy Institute
    Congresswoman Jane Harman (D-CA)
    Peter Harter, Sr. VP Bus. Development & Public Policy, Securify
    Marc Holtzman, Secretary of Technology, Colorado
    Congressman Gerald Weller (R-IL)

12:45 p.m.

  • Terrace Lunch - Fountain Courtyard


  • No Scheduled Activities

6:00 p.m.

  • Informal reception
    Remarks by George Gilder
    Sponsored by George Gilder's American Spectator

7:00 p.m.

  • Working Dinners

Crafting a Pro-Market Agenda for On-line Privacy
Moderator: Jeffrey Eisenach, PFF
J. Howard Beales III, Dir., FTC Consumer Protection Bur.
Ramsen Betfarhad, House Energy & Commerce Comm.
Scott Cooper, Govt. Affairs Mgr., Hewlett-Packard
Brian Gullette, Founder/VP Content Alliances, Plurimus
Michael Turner, Executive Director, ISEC
Kent Walker, Senior VP/General Counsel, Liberate

Broadband Deregulation: Is There Light At The End Of The Tunnel?
Moderator: Randolph J. May, PFF
Daniel Brenner, Senior VP, Law/Regulatory Policy, NCTA
Bill Cook, Venable, Baetjer, Howard, & Civiletti
Maureen McLaughlin, Senate Committee on Commerce
Robert Pepper, Chief, Office of Planning & Policy, FCC
Peter Pitsch, Communications Policy Director, Intel

Paying For Digital Content: Finding a Business Model That Works
Moderator: William Adkinson, PFF
Fritz Attaway, Senior VP/Government Relations, MPAA
Tom Bridle, Senior Policy Advisor to Rep. Jane Harman
Manus Cooney, VP/Corporate & Policy Dev., Napster
Jon Potter, Executive Director, Digital Media Association
Gary Shapiro, Pres/CEO, Consumer Electronics Assoc.
Cary Sherman, Senior Exec. VP/General Counsel, RIAA

Globalism and Antitrust: New Rules for a New World Economy
Moderator: Thomas Lenard, PFF
Edward Black, President, CCIA
Makan Delrahim, Senate Judiciary Committee
James C. Miller III, PFF
Irwin Stelzer, Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute
Hon. Orson Swindle, Commissioner, FTC

Tuesday, August 21

9:00 a.m.

9:45 a.m.

  • Panel Discussion: "The Implications of Ubiquitous Broadband"
    Moderator: Gary Shapiro, President/CEO, CEA
    Konrad Hilbers, CEO, Napster
    Vernon Irvin, Founding Manager & President, BT Ignite
    David Limp, Exec. VP & Sr. Strategy Officer, Liberate
    John J. Sie, Founder, Chairman, & CEO, Starz Encore Group
    Jack Valenti, President and CEO, MPAA

11:00 a.m.

  • Plenary Address: "The Broadband Imperative"
    David Dorman, President, AT&T

11:45 a.m.

  • Panel Discussion: "How to Jumpstart Broadband Deployment"
    Moderator: Randolph J. May, Progress & Freedom Foundation
    Hon. Kathleen Abernathy, Commissioner, FCC
    Larry Clinton, Vice President of Large Company Affairs, USTA
    Ray Gifford, Chairman, Colorado Public Utilities Commission
    Tom Wheeler, President & CEO, CTIA
    Michael Willner, CEO, Insight Communications

1:00 p.m.

  • Luncheon

2:15 p.m.

  • Panel Discussion: "E-commerce in a Global Economy: Is the Framework Breaking Down?:
    Moderator: Chris Caine, VP/Govt. Programs, IBM
    Roger Cochetti, Senior VP/Policy, Verisign
    Ira Magaziner, President, SJS Advisers
    Hon. Orson Swindle, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
    Don Upson, Secretary of Technology, Commonwealth of Virginia

3:30 p.m.

  • Plenary Address: "Why Broadband is Not Yet Free"
    George Gilder, Gilder Publishing

5:30 p.m.

  • Chairman's Reception

6:30 p.m.

  • Chairman's Dinner & Address
    Scott McNealy, Chairman & CEO, Sun Microsystems

Agenda- Aspen '01St. Regis AspenPrevious ConferencesRegistration Info
Aspen '01 SponsorsPFF Main Page